Rocky Mountain Regional Brain Injury System


The Rocky Mountain Regional Brain Injury System (RMRBIS) provides a comprehensive multidisciplinary specialty system of traumatic brain injury (TBI) care for Colorado and beyond, with research focusing on the health and function and community living and participation of individuals with moderate to severe TBI. Research activities include a site-specific randomized controlled trial of a group intervention to improve Self-Advocacy for Independent Life (SAIL) after TBI and help people get the services they need, a collaborative multi-center module to develop and evaluate crosswalks for aligning legacy domain measures to new measures in the longitudinal TBI Model Systems National Database. RMRBIS also participates in one or more modules lead by other TBI Model System centers, contributes to the TBIMS National Database by enrolling new individuals with TBI each year and continuing to follow more than 900 cases already enrolled, and disseminates findings to stakeholders through presentations and publications for consumer and professionals.


Craig Hospital
Research Department
3425 S. Clarkson Street
Englewood CO 80113

Project Officer: Theresa San Agustin, M.D.
Project Number:
             
  TitleEmailPhone  
Cindy Harrison-Felix, Ph.D.
Co-Project Director RMRBIS/ Project Director NDSCcharrison-felix@craighospital.org(303) 789-8565
Dave Mellick, Ph.D.
Co-Project Director NDSC/ Co-Project Director RMRBISdmellick@craighospital.org(303) 789-8563
Candy Tefertiller, PT, DPT, PhD, NCS
Co-Project Director RMRBIS/ Executive Director of Research and Evaluationctefertiller@craighospital.org(303) 789-8251
Gale G. Whiteneck, Ph.D.
Director Collaborations Core Co-Project Director and TBI Research Expertgale@craig-hospital.org(303) 789-8204
Alan Weintraub M.D
Medical Directoraweintraub@craighospital.org(303) 789-8220
Don Gerber, Ph.D.
Co-Principal Investigatordgerber@craighospital.org(303) 789 8478
Mackenzie Peckham
Research Assistantmpeckham@craighospital.org(719) 464-5464
Marissa Jaross
Research Associatemjaross@craighospital.org(720) 839-5842
Selena Cruz
Research AssistantSCruz@craighospital.org(940) 390-1347
Lenny Hawley, LCSW, CBIST
Co-Principal Investigatorlhawley@craighospital.org(303) 789-8570
Lisa Payne, Ph.D.
Co-Principal Investigatorlpayne@craighospital.org(303) 789-8446
Denise O'Dell, PT,DSc,NCS
Co-Principal Investigatordodell@craighospital.org(303) 789-7571