University of Alabama at Birmingham Traumatic Brain Injury Care System


The University of Alabama at Birmingham proposes to provide rehabilitation services specifically designed for individuals with TBI through its multidisciplinary, comprehensive Traumatic Brain Injury Model System (UAB TBIMS). Activities of the UAB TBIMS, both ongoing and proposed, reflect an active partnership within the components of UAB’s Health System and between UAB and community organizations, such as the Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services and the Alabama Head Injury Foundation. The goal of this project is to improve the lives of people with TBI and their family members by identifying trends in recovery and predictors of outcome while developing interventions to improve outcome. The objectives are: 1) Maintain enrollment and follow-up for the TBI National Database; 2) Complete one in-house research project, aimed at improving the health and function, as well as the community participation, of persons with TBI. The intervention development/efficacy research proposal will address barriers to healthy lifestyle behaviors; 3) Completion of an exploration and discovery module study focusing on return to driving after TBI, an essential component to independent living for many individuals. Anticipated outcomes include: 1) Enrollment of 45 participants per year in the National Database and successful follow-up of at least 80% of enrollees; 2) Evidence of the positive impact on health and community participation of healthy lifestyle decisions; 3) Understanding of factors related to return to driving after TBI to inform stakeholders and professionals. The expected products include an internet based program to promote healthy lifestyles after TBI and dissemination of project results through professional meetings and journals, as well as distribution of information to stakeholders through the Knowledge Translation Center.


University of Alabama/Spain Rehabilitation Center

619 19th St. S
Birmingham AL 35249-7330

Project Officer: Cate Miller, Ph.D.
Project Number:
             
  TitleEmailPhone  
Robert Brunner, M.D.
Project Directorbrunner@uab.edu(205) 975-2090
Jenny Marwitz, M.A.
Data Committee Chair
Co-Project Directorjennifermarwitz@uabmc.edu(205) 934-2022
Thomas Novack, Ph.D.
Co-Investigatornovack@uab.edu(205) 934-3454
Laura Dreer, Ph.D.
Project Investigatordreer@uab.edu(205) 325-8681
Richard Kennedy
Statisticianrekennedy@uab.edu(205) 975-7563
Kay Canupp, MSN, CRNP
Data Coordinatorkcanupp@uabmc.edu(205) 934-0355
Sean Hollis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professorshollis@uabmc.edu(205) 934-3454
Peter Waselkov
Data Managerwaselkov@uab.edu(205) 934-0355
Sarah Banasiewicz
Research Assistantsbanasiewicz@uabmc.edu(205) 934-8195
Drew Mauldin
Research Specialistmdmauldin@uabmc.edu(256) 572-4737