The Institute for Rehabilitation and Research (TIRR Memorial Hermann)


The Texas TBI Model System of TIRR, in collaboration with other funded centers and consumers (persons with TBI, caregivers, and rehabilitation professionals), will continue our history of contributing rigorous research that improves the health and function, community integration, and employment of persons with TBI, as well as providing effective, accessible dissemination. The overall goal is to improve chronic health management in persons with TBI. The objectives are: (1) To conduct a randomized controlled trial of a low cost, mood tracking app plus action recommendations to improve mental health, quality of life, and participation; (2) To conduct a collaborative module project to characterize health literacy in persons with TBI and its relationship to health outcomes; (3) To contribute at least 35 persons with TBI annually to the TBIMS National Database and collect follow-up data on previously enrolled participants at 1, 2, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, and 30 years post-injury; (4) To conduct a comprehensive program of dissemination to consumers and professionals. Outcomes – (1) Persons with TBI and caregivers will have improved understanding of management of long-term health effects after TBI, (2) Rehabilitation professionals will have new information to guide treatment of emotional distress and presentation of health information to consumers. Products – (1) Factsheet on using a mood tracker mobile app to reduce emotional distress after TBI, (2) Factsheet on application of health management strategies to minimize poor health outcomes, (3) Multimedia presentation to improve health literacy for persons with TBI, (4) Multimedia presentation on making health information accessible for persons with TBI, (5) 25 scientific publications, and (6) 25 presentations at professional meetings.


TIRR Memorial Hermann

1333 Moursund Avenue
Houston TX 77030

Project Officer: Leslie Caplan, Ph.D.
Project Number:
             
  TitleEmailPhone  
Mark Sherer, Ph.D.
Co-Project Directormark.sherer@memorialhermann.org(713) 799-7007
Angelle Sander, Ph.D.
Co-Project Directorangelle.sander@memorialhermann.org(713) 797-7161
Allison Clark, Ph.D.
Co-Investigatorallison.clark@memorialhermann.org(713) 797-7112
Ashley Devereaux
Research AssistantAshley.Devereaux@bcm.edu(713) 797-7134
Jay Bogaards
Back-Up Research Assistantjay.bogaards@memorialhermann.org(713) 797-7102
Todd Nick Ph.D.
Biostatisticiantgnick@uams.edu(201) 364-5373
Wilma Chua
Research Assistantwilma.chua@memorialhermann.org(713) 797-7103
Curtisa Light
Research Assistant Curtisa.Light@memorialhermann.org(713) 797-7104
Kim Tran
Research Assistantkim.tran4@memorialhermann.org(713) 797-7110