North Texas Traumatic Brain Injury Model System


The North Texas Traumatic Brain Injury Model System (TBIMS) is a unique partnership that leverages the clinical and research capacity of the leading clinical and research institutions in the region, including Baylor Health Care System, University of Texas Southwestern, and John Peter Smith Health System. The goal is to improve the health and function of individuals with TBI and their care partners through evidence-based clinical care and innovative research. The objectives are to: (1) provide comprehensive clinical care and rehabilitation to individuals with TBI; (2) assess the long-term outcomes of individuals with TBI (3) test the efficacy of an evidence-based weight-loss intervention for individuals post TBI (site-specific project); (4) assess the feasibility and efficacy of problem-solving training for care partners of individuals with TBI (module project); (5) disseminate findings to stakeholders. Anticipated outcomes include: (1) provision of a comprehensive continuum of care for individuals with TBI; (2) enrollment of =65 participants per year into the national database; (3) efficacy data supporting use of a weight-loss intervention following TBI that is scalable across the United States; (4) feasibility data on a problem-solving training intervention for care partners to reduce their burden, which is usable across all TBIMS centers; (5) resources for individuals with TBI and their care partners. The expected products include usable and replicable interventions for individuals with TBI and their care partners, scientific papers and presentations of intervention study results, stakeholder and student workshops, educational resources on TBI for individuals and care partners, and plain language factsheets disseminated locally and through the Model Systems Knowledge Translation Center.


Baylor Research Institute @ Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation

909 N Washington
Dallas TX 75426

Project Officer: Ken Wood, Ph.D.
Project Number:
             
  TitleEmailPhone  
Simon Driver, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator, Director of Research - BIRsimon.driver@bswhealth.org(214) 820-9014
Kathleen Bell, M.D.
Co-Principal Investigator, P&M Department Chair - UTSWkathleen.bell@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-9377
Randi Dubiel, D.O.
TBI Medical Director - BIRrdubiel@bir-rehab.com(214) 820-9593
Marie Dahdah, Ph.D.
Clinical Psychologist - BIRmarie.dahdah@bswhealth.org(469) 814-4816
Cindy Dunklin, B.S., CCRC
Project Coordinator - BIRcynthia.dunklin@BSWHealth.org(214) 820-9640
John Thottakara, M.D.
 john.thottakara@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-3315
Libby Callender, MPH Epidemiologist
Clinical Research Coordinator - BIRLibrada.callender@bswhealth.org(214) 820-9988
Evan Elizabeth McShan
Clinical Research Coordinator - BIREvanElizabeth.Rainey@BSWHealth.org(214) 818-2993
Jacqueline Nguyen
Clinical Research Coordinator - BIRjacqueline.nguyen@bswhealth.org(214) 263-4498
Samuel Preminger
Clinical Research Coordinatorsamuel.preminger@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-5352
Megan Reynolds
Clinical Research Coordinator - BIRMegan.reynolds@bswhealth.org(940) 368-7711
Amy Muir, MBA
Research Assistant - BIRamy.muir@BSWHealth.org(214) 820-9356
Lacy McDonald
Clinical Research Assistant - BIRlacy.mcdonald@bswhealth.org(214) 865-3613
Candice Osborne
Assistant Professorcandice.osborne@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-2723
Michael Conley
Research Assistantmichael.conley@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 799-3998
Stephanie Calhoun
Research Enrollment Analyststephanie.calhoun1@bswhealth.org(214) 820-9623
Chad Swank
Research Scientistcswank@bswrehab.com(214) 820-5958
Andrew Nabasny
InterventionistAndrew.Nabasny@UTSouthwestern.edu(214) 649-2928
Kan Ding
Assistant Professorkan.ding@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-9197
Sonia Gomez
Clinical Data Specialist Sonia.Gomez@UTsouthwestern.edu(214) 616-5797
Stephanie Neaves
Research study coordinatorstephanie.neaves@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-2650
Fangshouh Cheng
Student Internfhc190001@utdallas.edu(909) 967-2442
Brittany Wright
PhD Student Brittany.Wright@UTSouthwestern.edu(254) 723-6265
Yusra Waris
Internyusra.waris@utsouthwestern.edu(972) 730-1416
Surbhi Banubakode
Research Technician Interns196844@swmed.org(469) 288-3241
Alexandria Holden
Clinical Research Coordinatoralexandria.holden@BSWHealth.org(915) 208-5670
Lexis Khetsavanh
Internlexis.khetsavanh@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-5352
Samrudhi Mishra
Research Internsamrudhi.mishra@utsouthwestern.edu(214) 648-5332
Alena Alexander
Student Internaaa180032@utdallas.edu(214) 648-5352
Sarthak Bansal
intern sarthak.bansal@utsouthwestern.edu(832) 876-4998